Dominica country flag


Geography - People - Economy - Government - Communications - Transportation - Military - Transnational Issues

Country information - Dominica
Country name - conventional long form : Commonwealth of Dominica
Country name - conventional short form : Dominica
Government type : parliamentary democracy
Capital - name : Roseau
Capital - time difference : UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
National holiday : Independence Day, 3 November (1978)
Population : 72,514 (July 2008 est.)
Nationality - noun : Dominican(s)
Nationality - adjective : Dominican
Languages : English (official), French patois
Currency (code) : East Caribbean dollar (XCD)
Currency code : XCD

Dominica is located Caribbean, island between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, about half way between Puerto Rico and Trinidad and Tobago. The climate is tropical; moderated by northeast trade winds; heavy rainfall. The terrain is rugged mountains of volcanic origin.


This entry usually highlights major historic events and current issues and may include a statement about one or two key future trends.
Background : Dominica was the last of the Caribbean islands to be colonized by Europeans due chiefly to the fierce resistance of the native Caribs. France ceded possession to Great Britain in 1763, which made the island a colony in 1805. In 1980, two years after independence, Dominica's fortunes improved when a corrupt and tyrannical administration was replaced by that of Mary Eugenia CHARLES, the first female prime minister in the Caribbean, who remained in office for 15 years. Some 3,000 Carib Indians still living on Dominica are the only pre-Columbian population remaining in the eastern Caribbean.

More Information about the country

Dominica country locatorDominica country map