Samoa country flag


Geography - People - Economy - Government - Communications - Transportation - Military - Transnational Issues

Country information - Samoa
Country name - conventional long form : Independent State of Samoa
Country name - conventional short form : Samoa
Country name - local long form : Malo Sa'oloto Tuto'atasi o Samoa
Country name - local short form : Samoa
Country name - former : Western Samoa
Government type : parliamentary democracy
Capital - name : Apia
Capital - time difference : UTC-11 (6 hours behind Washington, DC during Standard Time)
National holiday : Independence Day Celebration, 1 June (1962); note - 1 January 1962 is the date of independence from the New Zealand-administered UN trusteeship; it is observed in June
Nationality - noun : Samoan(s)
Nationality - adjective : Samoan
Languages : Samoan (Polynesian), English
Currency (code) : tala (SAT)
Currency code : SAT (former WST code is still in wide use)

Samoa is located Oceania, group of islands in the South Pacific Ocean, about half way between Hawaii and New Zealand. The climate is tropical; rainy season (November to April), dry season (May to October). The terrain is two main islands (Savaii, Upolu) and several smaller islands and uninhabited islets; narrow coastal plain with volcanic, rocky, rugged mountains in interior.


This entry usually highlights major historic events and current issues and may include a statement about one or two key future trends.
Background : New Zealand occupied the German protectorate of Western Samoa at the outbreak of World War I in 1914. It continued to administer the islands as a mandate and then as a trust territory until 1962, when the islands became the first Polynesian nation to reestablish independence in the 20th century. The country dropped the "Western" from its name in 1997.

More Information about the country

Samoa country locatorSamoa country map